Print Page   |   Sign In
VAPDC Annual Awards
Share |

Robert W. Baker Achievement Award

In 1965, following retirement from the U.S. Army, Robert W. "Bob" Baker accepted a position with the Brunswick County Regional Planning and Development Corporation. Later he helped organize the Southside Planning District Commission and served as the Executive Director from 1969 until his death in 1976. Bob Baker was an outstanding leader, strong in character and wisdom, with a dynamic personality filled with an abundance of compassion for his fellowman, and sincere dedication to his work. He recognized the pressing need for regional planning and cooperation and he specialized in initiating regional projects. Bob was in the forefront in organizing the Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions and served as President in the early years. Following his death, the Robert W. Baker Achievement Award was established in the late seventies.

The Robert W. Baker Achievement Award is intended to recognize persons who have been involved directly in planning district commission activities and who have contributed significantly to promoting regional planning and development in Virginia while impacting more than one PDC. Such persons may include governors, state agency heads, mayors, chairs, state division directors, etc. Past Recipients

Gordon N. Dixon Award

The Gordon N. Dixon Award is intended to recognize an executive director or a VAPDC commissioner,but a PDC commissioner as well, who has provided leadership and made outstanding contributions to promoting the concept of regionalism in the Commonwealth of Virginia. For16 years, Gordon N.Dixon was truly an outstanding example of a regionalleaderwhile serving as Executive Director for two planning district commissions-the New River Valley and the Fifth Planning District Commission. He sincerely believed in regional planning and communitydevelopment.Following his death in 1987, the VAPDC established the Dixon Award to recognize executive directors and commissioners who display exceptional dedication to the regional planning vision for Virginia. Past Recipients

Robert M. deVoursney Best Practices Award

The Robert M. deVoursney Best Practices Award recognizes a PDC or a regional organization that has initiated or heightened an existing innovative regional approach or activity that has contributed significantly to regional cooperation. The award recognizes innovation, excellence, commitment and/or service to the advancement of regional planning and multijurisdictional cooperation. This award is intended to showcase the creative work and/or the ability to leverage resources and services of our PDC’s. Projects must have been in place and operational for at least 12 months and have measurable benefits. Past recipients include the following:

  • 2017 Northern Virginia Regional Commission - NoVA Solar Map Project >> Press Release
  • 2016 Southside PDC - Town of Halifax Banister River Gateway Project
  • 2015 New River Valley Planning District Commission (New River Valley Livability Initiative)
  • 2014 Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission (Fields of Gold Agritourism Program)
  • 2011 Northern Neck PDC (Northern Neck Tourism Commission)
  • 2010 Cumberland Plateau Company (CPC Optinet) In 2004, the Cumberland Plateau Company embarked upon a program to provide internet services to all businesses and industries in its four-county area. Within the next five years, the company was able to secure $19 million dollars in grants from EDA and the VTC to provide a broadband trunk line throughout the four counties.
  • 2009 Northern Virginia Regional Commission

Legislator of the Year Award

VAPDC’s Legislator of the Year Award is intended to recognize a State Legislator who has provided leadership or has contributed significantly to promoting regional planning and the Planning District Commissions in Virginia. Past recipients include the following:

  • 2017 Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. >> Press Release
  • 2016 Delegate Keith Hodges
  • 2015 Delegate R. Steven Landes
  • 2014 Senator Janet D. Howell
  • 2013 Delegate Kirkland Cox

President's Award

  • 2017 D. Coleman Speece (given by Robert Coiner, President) >> Press Release
  • 2016 Bonnie Riedesel (given by Billy Martin, President)
  • 2015 James Baldwin (given by Billy Martin, President)
  • 2014 Wayne G. Strickland (given by F. Woodrow "Woody" Harris, President)